New on the Needles

While on my Christmas break back in New Zealand, I bought some Mill End yarn for 3 NZD a ball. Super cheap 100% wool yarn! Mill End yarn is the last production run of discontinued lines, and much like cleanskin or naked labeled wines, you don’t exactly know what you’ve got until you crack it open. Luckily with yarn it is a lot easier to get a feel for what you have before buying it. This one was soft, and a lovely light grey brown colour, so I decided to give it a go. At $3 for 50 grams, it was definitely a good deal!

20130408-125611.jpg

I was looking around for a pattern for several weeks. I wanted a cardigan, possibly cabled or possibly with a bit of lace. Something with visual interest, but nothing too complicated either. After favouriting many patterns on Ravelry and not feeling the need to immediately cast on for any of them, something popped up on my blog roll, just what I had been searching in vain for! So I’ve cast on for the Jackson Creek Cardi, and am so far loving it.

20130408-125721.jpg

The cables are simple but interesting, and since I am knitting the back and two sides together rather than in separate pieces as the pattern suggests, there is enough mindless stockingette to be able to zone out and watch some T.V. series with.

Stay tuned! This probably won’t go as quickly as I would like, since I am also supposed to be *ahem* writing my thesis, but who knows, perhaps that will actually make it go faster!

Leave a comment