Travel knitting

What do you usually knit while you are travelling? By travelling in this sense, I don’t mean lying on a sunny beach, or drinking coffee in a foreign cafe. I mean the part where you are on the train to the airport, waiting at departure gates, or in a plane for 12+ hours at a stretch!

I have travelled, in this sense, to a fro from New Zealand/Europe several times over the last year and a half now. I tend to be sleep deprived, so I always prefer something very simple. For non-travel knitting, I like a bit of lace, but in dimmed cabins with sleepy eyes, this is not my favourite things! I want something to keep my hands busy, but not something that I have to think about. I intersperse knitting with a spot of reading (that reminds me, I need to find a good book or two!), and of course, plane movies (the only time I can sit through an entire film or 6).

So far I have usually chosen something like a nice plain sock, but this time I have chosen something a little different to get me through my travelling period of Thursday to Saturday next week! I also like to begin the project before I leave, to get in to the rhythm of it, and besides, who feels like casting on or doing last minute math while waiting in security lines?

travelknitting1

So this is what I have so far. This yarn is Drops Alpaca (Ravelry link) in a dark maroony red, and a natural cream. It claims to be sports-weight, but I think it is much closer to a fingering. I am using 3.5 mm needles to knit a flat version of the semi-circular shawl Citron (Ravelry link), in stripes. I was inspired by several shawls that I saw on Ravelry, which are stripy with a lace border. I especially like this one, and this one, both of which are knitted with Citron as a base. I like it because there is no centre stitch as in the triangular shawls, so the stripes just flow and don’t change direction.

I am thinking of using the lace edging in the cream yarn from the Holden Shawlette (Ravelry Link), but I haven’t quite decided on that yet. I have a long way to go until I have to make a decision though, both literally and with the knitting!

Well, I had better get on back to my new favourite yarn store to stock up on more of this Alpaca – what would I do if I ran out in the air, or even in New Zealand?! I want to make this shawl quite large, and DROPS Alpaca is on sale at the moment! I am also considering a matching hat.

What do you knit when you are travelling?

Leave a Reply

