Fun with Fair Isle

I’m just going to pretend that I haven’t disappeared for 3 months, and show you all some of the knitting I’ve been doing.  I knitted this when I had a few lazy days in Japan.

Yes!  I learned how to knit Fair Isle Style (or stranded knitting really, because I think that Fair Isle refers to specific patterns).  And yes, this photo does have a cow in the street – that’s because I was also in India, both South and North, where pigs, cows, camels, dogs, cats and elephants (not just the ones on my hat!) were to be seen on the street.  This photo is a bit unfortunate because you can see the “seam” on the hat, not really a seam because I was knitting on circular needles.

I based the pattern of this hat on the Olympic Reindeer Hat, from the Olympics.  However, reindeer weren’t really doing it for me, so I replaced them with some lovely elephants…  All in all, it was much simpler than I thought it would be!  I’ve almost finished another hat of my own design, and am also working on a pair of Fair Isle socks – my first attempt.  Hopefully with all this free time I’ve got now I’ll be finished soon and be able to show you the results.  I’m trying to learn how to knit continental style (with my left hand), so that I can hold one colour in my left hand, and the other in my right…  Unfortunately dealing with teeny tiny wool and four very pointy double pointed needles is making me a bit lazy to learn this!

See you soon!

2 thoughts on “Fun with Fair Isle

Leave a comment