Peanut Butter Hummus

At the moment I’m sitting at the table at home in Tauranga, having my morning cup of tea and a piece of toast.  I’ve been very busy the last week or so getting ready and packed up to leave Wellington – and finally I made it!  Last week, I went to my friend’s house for a movie and dinner, and made some more dip (see my Pumpkin Dip) to take.  Because I was moving out of my house, I didn’t want to buy any new ingredients, and wanted to use up what was in my cupboard.  I had a can of chickpeas, so I thought that I would make hummus…  Instead of tahini, I put in a few spoons of peanut butter (I know, not quite comparable), and it tasted great!  Here it is all ready to be carried up the hill to my friend’s house:

I put in it:

– One can of chickpeas, drained

– Garlic, finely chopped (not too much, it’s not being cooked, so it’s very garlicky!)

– Olive oil

– Few spoons of peanut butter (crunchy!)

You can add any other flavours you want to – basically just zizz up the chickpeas, and add enough oil to make it a nice consistency.  Keep adding bits and pieces and experimenting until you get the flavour you want.  I made focaccia bread to go with it, with sliced lemons, chopped olives, and cheese on top (using up all my food again, it made a nice combination!).

Leave a Reply

