Legendary Lemon Cheese Pudding

Last Friday night, my friend Sarah and I had a baking date.  Our baking dates are always wild nights, full of soup, bread, and desert!  Last time we met up, we made an amazing Lemon Cheese Pudding, which my Mum has been making ever since it was made for us by some friends of the family.  In fact, I’m pretty sure Sarah’s boyfriend only proposed to her to get access to this pudding.  Or because she’s an awesome girl, and an amazing baker!   Anyway, this Lemon “Cheese” Pudding is worth a try – it’s so simple and incredibly delicious.  Is is a recipe from the Edmond’s Cookbook, but doesn’t seem to be included in the later version.  It’s in my Mum’s cookbook, but not mine.  I don’t know why they wouldn’t include it!  I think it’s called “Cheese” pudding, because the lemon juice curdles the milk and butter a little, meaning that they puddingy bit looks a little like ricotta cheese or something.  That’s my theory anyway!

– 1 tablespoon of butter (or marg)

– 1/2 cup of sugar

– Juice and rind of one lemon

– Pinch of salt

– 1 cup of milk (usually I use soy milk, and it works fine)

– 2 eggs

– 1 tablespoon of flour

Beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks.  In another bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Add flour, lemon juice and rind, milk and a pinch of salt to the butter and sugar.  Gently fold your egg whites into the lemony mixture, trying not to pop too many bubbles!

Spoon or pour the mixture into ramekins, and place the ramekins in a dish.  Pour boiling water into the dish so that it comes to about half way up the ramekins – Sarah tells me this is so it cooks evenly..  Bake for about 20 mins at 170C.

Here are some happy snaps from our baking date:

Sarah making the lemony mixture.

My wonderfully whipped egg whites.

Sarah mixing the wonderfully whipped whites into the lovely lemon mixture.

Check out Sarah’s blog too, she has some lovely pictures of our baking date (including one of the insides of the pudding – I was in too much of a hurry to eat it to take a photo)..

3 thoughts on “Legendary Lemon Cheese Pudding

  1. hehe, thanks again for the date! Going to miss our dates when you’re away! Ooo, maybe we could somehow have blog dates…ha, that would be ultra nerdy. I’m keen.

Comments are closed.