Tamarillo Crumble

This is a tamarillo.

Look at its deliciousness.  According to the almighty collection of knowledge, Wikipedia, the name tamarillo was made up by some marketing people – they are also known as ‘Tree Tomatos’, but that wasn’t exotic enough.  The name tamarillo is apparently a combination of the Maori word tama meaning ‘leadership’, and the rillo part possibly comes from the Spanish amarillo ‘yellow’ (tamarillos also come in a yellow variety, though the red/purple seems to be the most common around these days).  Last night, I used some plump juicy tamarillos to make a Tamarillo Crumble.

I have a special trick to peeling tamarillos, to maximise the amount of fruit that I get.  This method could be used for other fruits/veges with similar types of skin, like tomatoes.  First of all, cut a cross at the base of the tamarillo.

Then once you’ve done that to all of them, put them in a pot of boiling water for about 5 minutes, or until the skin starts to split (you can sort of see it in this photo, but it’s a wee bit obscured by the steamy water!).

Once the skins have split, put the tamarillos into some cold water, until they are cold enough to handle.  Then, you can strip their skins right off, and voila, naked tamarillos!

For my crumble, I also used one apple, sliced thinly.  In the past, I’ve also used pear which was delicious!  The tamarillos are quite strong in flavour, so generally need some kind of “base” to the crumble.  Chop up your tamarillos.  Look at the beautiful inside of it!  Just on a side note, your kitchen will look like a murder scene after chopping up the tamarillos.

Mix your fruit together in an oven proof dish, with some brown sugar.  How much you use just depends on your taste, and also what fruit you’re using.  Tamarillos are quite tart, but I don’t like super sweet things, so I used about 3 tablespoons of sugar (remember that the topping will also be sweet).

Now for the topping!  You will need:

  • 50 g butter
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 cup of oats

Just to show off another picture of my cake mixer, here are the jars that I keep all my baking goods in.  I’ve managed to make a whole collection of different sizes and shapes by buying them whenever I see them at second hand shops (although I temporarily inherited some of them from my sister Fern when she went to Japan for a year).  At the second hand shops they are about $2 – $4, and if the rubber sealing ring has dried out or is really old, you can usually buy new ones at shops that sell the new jars for preserving (home shops, The Warehouse etc).

In a small saucepan, melt the butter and the sugar and mix together.  Then add your oats, and coat them in the sugar/butter mixture.  Finally, spread your crumble mixture on your fruit.  Spread it to the edges, and press it down.

Your crumble will probably take about 25 minutes to cook in a 200c oven – depending on how large you cut your fruit pieces, and how crispy you like your crumble.  This is the finished product, doesn’t the juice that has bubbled up over the crumble look delicious!!

Mmmmm close up.  I ate more of the crumble for breakfast this morning, and I’m currently waiting for my dinner (fish curry) to digest so that I can have some more for pud!

3 thoughts on “Tamarillo Crumble

  1. TRAGEDY! There are no tamarillos in the US! Actually, that’s probably a lie. I bet Central Market or Whole Foods has them. Perhaps I shall try it out 🙂

    • Oh no! Apparently they come from South America, so surely they’d have them as an “exotic” food somewhere. Maybe try Wheatsville too? I know they had NZ kiwifruit there (with a “local produce” sign up!!! Far from local, I’d say!)…

  2. haha you’re such a linguist! Laurie would be proud 🙂 Interesting though!
    Yum, that pudding looks truely delicious. I miss the smell of your tamarillo’s cooking in the flat last year! I always think of you when I see a tamarillo now. x

Leave a Reply

