Queso Fresco (Fresh Cheese)

I know that Fern has already done a wee how to for this, but this one is especially for Emily, because I promised that I would try to keep up this blog for her…  Plus it gives me a chance to show off some lovely pictures of my cake mixer!

I originally saw this recipe on an episode of World Kitchen, which is a really neat cooking show.  Even though it’s sponsored  by Tegal, so most of the recipes have chicken in them, I quite like it because it’s a great combination of travel and yummy simple recipes.

This one is for Queso Fresco, or fresh cheese.  It’s really surprisingly easy!   All you need is:

  • 2 litres of full cream milk
  • 1 Lemon
  • Some kind of cloth (I used a new dishcloth)

1.  In a big pot, bring the milk to the boil.   Simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring the whole time to stop the milk from burning on the bottom of the pot, and forming a skin on the top.

2.  After 10 minutes, add the juice of one lemon.  Your milk will curdle, and look something like this:

3.  Now, you need to drain the whey, you’re left with the curds, which will make your cheese!  I used my cake mixer bowl with a sieve, like this, to make it a bit easier (I only have two hands, after all).

4.  Finally, squeeze some of the liquid off your cheese, and leave it to drip out.  How long you leave it, and how much liquid you squeeze out depends on how hard/soft you want your cheese.  The less liquid, the harder the cheese.  Now comes the picture of my cake mixer, which doubles nicely as a cheese dripper machine…

Unfortunately, in my haste to eat my lovely cheese, I completely forgot to take a photo of the finished product!  I finished it off by sprinkling some salt on the outside, because the flavour of this cheese is quite mild.  If you’re a salty-tooth you may also want to add some salt at the stage when you are draining the whey off.

I used this cheese to garnish a tomato soup type thing, which was yummy indeed!  Fern used it on some pizza bread – yum.  It keeps for a little while in the fridge, keep it in an airtight container, and just give it a sniff to see whether it’s still good.  That’s always my strategy, I hardly ever look at use by dates…

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Queso Fresco (Fresh Cheese)

  1. I made this! I haven’t eaten it, though. But I hope it will be delicious. Oooh, what if I use it as the cheese and make a butternut squash/rosemary pizza just like back in the day at DHaus?!

Leave a Reply

