Chocolate Chili Puddings

I am at home on a rainy afternoon, and eating the last of these amazing chocolate chili puddings that I made earlier in the week.  So what better to do than to finally get my A in G and start a blog, so that I can show you all the amazingness of these puddings, and hopefully get the recipe right so that you can make them too!

Chocolate Chili Puddings Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 of a block of dark chocolate (I used Whittaker’s 70%)
  • 25 grams of butter
  • 1/2 a cup of sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • About half a cup of milk (I use soy milk)
  • 1 Tablespoon of flour
  • A shake of cinnamon
  • A tiny pinch of chili powder

Method:

Preheat your oven to 160 C, and boil your jug.

Start by separating the eggs, and beating the egg whites until they are stiff.  I use my lovely red mixer for this, and just leave it going while I do everything else.

Melt the butter in a saucepan, and while it’s hot add the chopped up chocolate and put the lid on.  The chocolate will melt, with no need for being fiddly with a double boiler!  Once it looks nice and soft, mix it up with the butter using a fork or a whisk.

To the chocolate and butter mixture, add your sugar and egg yolks (make sure it’s cooled down a wee bit first, we don’t want scrambled eggs).  Then add your flour and stir it in too.  You need a bit of milk to make the mixture quite liquidy – far more liquidy than you would think!  I think I added about half a cup.  You want it to be kind of the consistency of pancake batter.  Because this recipe has whipped up egg whites in it, you don’t need to add any raising agents like baking powder.

For the final touch to your chocolate mixture, add a tiny pinch of chili powder.  This really is the secret ingredient.  It’s what, as my friend put it, makes your throat go “wooooo-ooo-oooo” when you eat it.  If you want to, add a shake of cinnamon too.

Finally, combine your egg whites and the chocolate mixture, being really careful not to burst too many of the egg whites’ bubbles.

Spoon the mixture into ramekins (I used four, but next time will probably use 5 or 6).  Put the ramekins into an ovenproof dish (I just use a pyrex one big enough to fit a few ramekins in).  Pour the hot water around the ramekins, and pop into the oven!  I’m not entirely sure how long I left these in the oven for, it would depend on how saucy you want them.  As you can see, the tops of mine got lovely and cracked, and the inside was quite fudgy.  They probably took about 20 minutes or half an hour to get to that stage,  but if you prefer your pudding to be a bit more saucy, just don’t leave them in the oven as long – experiment!  Pudding recipes are pretty forgiving – I made this one up as I went along, loosely based on a Lemon Cheese Pudding, but more about that later…

Amazing.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chili Puddings

  1. Nom nom nom, looks amazing! Your mixer makes such a pretty domestic backdrop too!
    I might try making these next week – its a bit of a hassle because I have to make a special trip to a specialty supermarket, the only place around here that sells free range eggs. I just CAN’T bring myself to buy caged eggs, I couldn’t enjoy the pudding!

  2. Sophia you have made me seriously hungry. These recipies are have my mouth watering. If kathy and I get to see you when we’re in NZ I’ll be the portly tatooed guy with choco chili crumbs in mybeard.

Leave a Reply

